Get a Library Card
Apply for a Library Card
Applications for library cards are available at the Check Out Desk or Information Desk, and must be submitted in person. Children under 16 years old must have their parent or guardian with them to apply for a card. To obtain a card, you must provide identification that shows Minnesota personal residency. Acceptable forms of ID are: driver’s license, passport, or government-issued or school ID. If your ID does not show your current address, you must show something else with your current address: bill, checkbook, or received mail. Minnesota residents are issued their first card free. All replacement cards are $1.00. Non-Minnesota residents may purchase a library card for $40.00 per year.
Your library card contains your 13-digit library account number. You may choose your own library four-digit PIN. Your PIN is automatically entered into your account when you apply for your card. You can change your PIN in person or online by logging on to your library account.
Checkout and Return
All materials owned by the library can be checked out for three weeks. Materials received from other libraries are subject to the owning library’s checkout policies. Due dates for all materials are listed on your checkout receipt.
Materials can be returned at either the outside bookdrop, located to the east of the entrance, or the inside bookdrop, located on your right as you enter the library. Materials can also be returned at any Minnesota library.
Materials owned by the library can be renewed a maximum of two times, unless there is a request for an item. Materials owned by another library can be renewed according to that library’s renewal policy. If you renew items that are overdue, fines are charged for the overdue time period.
Materials can be renewed in person, by phone (507-433-2391) or online (please note: overdue materials cannot be renewed online). Materials from non-SELCO libraries cannot be renewed.
Overdue Fines and Fees
Except for hotspots and chromebooks, the overdue fine rate for all materials is 25 cents per open day, per item and the maximum fine per item is $10.00. The library accepts cash, checks, and credit or debit cards. Overdue fines for materials owned by another library are subject to that library’s fine policy.
Your borrowing privileges will be restricted at checkout if you owe the library $5.00 or more in overdue fines and/or fees.
Lost items must be paid for in full with either cash, check, or credit/debit cards. A replacement for a lost item is not accepted.
Email or Text Notifications
You can receive email notices that let you know when your materials are about due, when they are overdue, and when you have items on hold. To receive this service, click here to submit your email address.